International Centre for Higher Education Innovation
under the auspices of UNESCO


January 8, 2018
Share to WechatX
Scan the QR code to share

UNESCO-ICHEI, SUSTech and Addis Ababa University in Ethiopia have signed a MOU to substantiate their cooperation. The Smart Classroom, sponsored by Weidong Cloud Education Group, UNESCO-ICHEI and SUSTech is going to be established in Addis Ababa University.

Higher Education in Ethiopia

The introduction of higher education in Ethiopia began in the mid-1960s. It is only in that past fifteen years, access to higher education has opened to the wider population. According to Ministry of Education, in 2004/05, the number of public higher education institutions has increased, from 8 to 36 (33 take students directly from grade twelve), distributed across all regions of the country. Private higher education institutions have also expanded, reaching 98 institutions in total, accommodating around 15% of all student enrolment by the end of the Education Sector Development Program IV period. This extra capacity has allowed rapid increases in intake. Undergraduate enrolment (government and private) rose from 447,693 in 2010/11, to 593,571 in 2013/14. According to UNESCO UIS, the gross enrolment ratio of Tertiary education has been increased from 3.54% in 2008 to 8.13% in 2014.


Addis Ababa University

Addis Ababa University (AAU), which was established in 1950 as the University College of Addis Ababa (UCAA), is the oldest and the largest higher learning and research institution in Ethiopia. Since its inception, the University has been the leading center in teaching-learning, research and community services.

Beginning with enrollment capacity of 33 students in 1950, AAU now has 48,673 students (33,940 undergraduate, 13,000 Master’s and 1733 PhD students) and 6043 staff (2,408 academics and 3,635 support staff). In its 14 campuses, the University runs 70 undergraduate and 293 graduate programs (72 PhD and 221 Masters), and various specializations in Health Sciences.

Over 222,000 students have graduated from AAU since its establishment.

The University is led by a President who is assisted by four Vice Presidents and one Executive Director: Academic Vice President, Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer, Vice President for Administration and Student Services, Vice President for Institutional Development and the Executive Director of the College of Health Sciences (with the rank of Vice President).

In recent years, the University has been undertaking various reform schemes in order to cope with and respond to the fast-changing national and international educational dynamics. At present the University has 10 colleges, 4 institutes that run both teaching and research, and 6 research institutes that predominantly conduct research. Within these academic units, there are 55 departments, 12 centers, 12 schools, and 2 teaching hospitals.